Licensing | Licensing Info | Uncategorized

Understanding Your 2022 Kansas Nursing License Renewal

  • For busy Kansas nurses juggling incredible strains on the overall healthcare system, little time is left for sifting through new rules and requirements for their 2021 license renewal.
  • Kansas nurses who miss their renewal deadline will need a license reinstatement, if a temporary permit was not requested for a 120 day extension.
  • Nursing CE Central has a full breakdown of top questions, deadlines, requirements, and consequences of missing your renewal deadline for the 2021 Kansas nursing license renewal period.

NCC News & Content Team

October 20, 2021
Simmons University

 

As nurses across the country battle against staffing shortages, burnout, and an all-time high of demands and strains on the overall healthcare system, little time is left for sifting through new rules and requirements for license renewal!

For Kansas nurses whose licenses expire during a chaotic 2021, a lapse in licensure not only means a potentially big headache dealing with the Kansas Board of Nursing, but also additional fees and continuing nursing education requirements.

That’s why our Nursing CE Central team has a full breakdown of top questions, deadlines, requirements, and consequences of missing your renewal deadline for the 2021 Kansas nursing license renewal period.

If a Kansas nurse misses their renewal deadline, their license will become inactive. Only an active license may be renewed, thus a license reinstatement is required.

1. How can I renew my license? Can I mail in a paper renewal application?

Nurses can renew their license through the Kansas Nursing License Portal. Additionally, the Kansas Board of Nursing still accepts paper applications for renewal. Nurses may renew their license starting at 90 days prior to a license’s current expiration.

2. Is the Kansas Board of Nursing waiving any renewal requirements this year due to COVID-19?

No. According to the Kansas Board of Nursing, “there is no Kansas law or executive order in effect that authorizes the Board of Nursing to issue an emergency license.” Additionally, all renewal requirements such as 30 hours of continuing nursing education (CNE), and standard renewal fees, are still in place.

3. Is there a COVID-19 related grace period if I miss my renewal deadline?

No. If a Kansas nurse misses their renewal deadline, their license will become inactive. Only an active license may be renewed, thus a license reinstatement is required if a nurse does not renew before their current expiration date. License reinstatements require proof of completed continuing nursing education, and come with additional fees.

4. What happens if I don’t renew my license before its current expiration date?

If a Kansas nurse misses their renewal deadline, their license will become inactive. Only an active license may be renewed, thus a license reinstatement is required if a nurse does not renew before their current expiration date. License reinstatements require proof of completed continuing nursing education (CNE) and come with additional fees.

Nurses can work/practice in Kansas with a temporary permit if they have not completed their CNE requirements, granting them an addition 120 days to obtain them. However, a temporary permit to work must be applied for.

2021 Texas License Renewal, Working with Expired License

5. What do I need to have ready when starting my renewal online with the Kansas Board of Nursing?

Most nurses will only need to have fulfilled their required 30 hours of continuing nursing education and have a valid method of payment ready, to complete their renewal through the online, Kansas Nursing License Portal.

6. What are the 2021 continuing nursing education (CNE) requirements for renewal?

All nurses must complete 30 hours of continuing nursing education in order to renew their nursing license.

7. Can I renew now and complete my CNE requirements later?

No. All Kansas nurses must complete their CNE requirements before they renew their license. Renewing without completing 30 hours of CNE may result in disciplinary action from the Kansas State Board of Nursing.

8. How can I check that my renewal is complete?

You can check the status of your license (including its expiration date) and/or verify the completion of your license renewal by visiting the Kansas Board of Nursing License Verification platform, the Nursys licensing database, or by written request to the Kansas State Board of Nursing.

9. Do I have to keep documentation proving that I completed my 2021 CNE requirements for renewal?

Yes. All Kansas nurses must save proof of CNE completion. If audited, nurses must provide certificates or other documentation proving that they fulfilled their CNE requirements for the given renewal period.

For more information on Kansas renewal requirements, or to start your Kansas required continuing nursing education, click here.

Love what you read?
Share our insider knowledge and tips!

Read More